June 2016 Reads

This month saw me begin work on a play being staged in London’s West End. The first few weeks of putting a production on stage is always intense; full of long hours, blood, sweat and tears. Literally. Needless to say, in the small amount of time I had spare, eating and sleeping became top priority. My opportunities to read were few.

26150770

Nevertheless, I have made my way through two-thirds of Sean Carroll’s The Big Picture, which I started at the beginning of the month. It’s heavy reading, but contains some interesting and fascinating ideas. I’m hoping to have some time later this week to plow through to the end, and write up a review.

612vamb-pwl-_sl300_While walking to and from the train station every day, I was listening to an unabridged audiobook of 1984 by George Orwell (read by Andrew Wincott) from Audible. I originally read 1984 when I was around 13 or 14. I was studying Animal Farm for my Year 9 English class, and when my dad saw me reading it, he said “George Orwell huh? You should also read 1984.” So I did. It is illuminating to come back to a book that I read such a long time ago, and at a young age. I read and understood the book then with the brain and experience-limited understanding of a child, although I didn’t realise that at the time. Coming back to 1984 as a 30-something, with an older brain, a little more knowledge, and some more experience and understanding of the world, society and politics, I have found things in the book that I didn’t remember from my first reading. I remembered the book being bleak, but my goodness is it bleak…

cover85065-medium

Next up on my To Read list is The Secret Poisoner: A Century of Murder by Linda Stratmann.

What are you reading at the moment?

Leave a Reply

